top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKiera Wassink

Week 10

Hey blog fam,


This past week we were back at Camp Squeah. We kicked off the weekend by doing a service day with the camp staff. This involved things like raking leaves, junking wood, cleaning out gutters, and other maintenance things. It sounds boring, but we made the most of our time!


The next two days our group split in half; some went to the library to work on our research projects and some went caving! Everyone had different feelings about it and I especially did not want to go because I don’t like tight spaces, but turns out I really enjoyed it. The first part of the day we split into groups of 4 or 5 and made our way through 4 levels of a cave to try and find the way out. My group was a power team and worked hard together to reach the end.. first of course :). We then had fajitas for lunch and made our way to another cave. The best way to describe the next activity is that it was like a big game of sardines. Our guide Walden sent us to different entrances and then took off into the cave telling us to find him. My group was the first to stumble upon Walden after going through some really tight spaces, then reaching a big underground room where Walden was waiting. After a while of waiting some of our team went to help the rest of our group find their way to us. We did our debrief in the darkness of the underground room and talked about how our journey through the caves can be like our walk with God; you can’t always see where you are going and it takes a lot of trust to get through the tight spaces.


The rest of the week we had sessions led by Steve Klassen who taught about how to listen to God. I enjoyed his sessions and I didn’t know how I felt about him telling us we’d be doing a silent day. There is no specific instruction for what you have to do on a silent day other than that you need to be silent (duh). I had a hard time with it to be honest; trying to not get distracted or talk to other people, but what I realized the most by the end of the day, after a very long walk in the woods, is that I so easily talk to God and bring my requests and concerns before him, but I struggle to take the time to just sit in silence and listen to him instead. I think it is a skill to master to be able to sit in silence with your own thoughts and try to block out the world around you, but it is possible. I think it can also be very refreshing to have some silence sometimes especially since we live in such a noisy world.


This week came to an end, and we made the 4hr journey this afternoon to Pemberton where we are now staying for the weekend at a beautiful lodge while we go BUNGEE JUMPING TOMORROW!! I am super stoked for this next part of our adventure but slightly scared at the same time. If I survive, you’ll hear all about it in the next blog! (Joking)


That’s all for now,


Kiera & Noah




54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 12

Week 9

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page