top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKiera Wassink

Week 1

Updated: Oct 1, 2019

Hey hey hey!


We made it to the end of our first week on the Outtatown Discipleship Program and I couldn't have asked for a better start to this journey. On Saturday, Noah and I drove to Toronto airport and flew to Winnipeg after taking a few days to visit friends and family in Ontario. On Sunday, we met with our large group of 36 students and 5 leaders at CMU (Canadian Mennonite University), packed up our gear in our 15 passenger vans, and headed on a 2 hr trek to northern Ontario to Manitoba Pioneer Camp where we went on a four day backcountry canoe trip. For this trip our group was split into two smaller groups to make canoeing and camping accommodations a little bit easier on our canoe guides. The first day of the trip it poured down rain and through the night it soaked our tents, but that didn't dampen our spirits. There was lots of laughter and fun surrounding cooking meals, paddling across wavy, wild waters, and setting up and tearing down tents. Between one student making a trip to the hospital for stitches on her foot (cut on a rock), and another falling out of canoe on the way back to camp (we were basically paddling through ocean-like white caps), I would say the trip was a great success.


With next to no signal this week back in the boonies, I felt refreshed without the pressure of social media over my head and having to stay in contact with the outer world. Ya I know this is very cliche, but being out in nature really does revive my soul and encourages me to appreciate this beautiful world God has given us! My patience were tried and tested knowing I am not in control; whether that be the weather, making sure everyone is happy, or being able to stay clean and dry. For me this canoe trip really gave me the chance to learn to let things go; the past, the tough things in life, people, and all the situations that are out of my control, and give it all back to God. I know I take for granted that fact that He is the only one that can truly heal us of all our pain and heartache and that He will always be a listening ear when we need someone to talk to.


Well thats the end of my first of many, short but long, funny but sentimental blog posts that will posted for you to read at the end of each week.


Have a great weekend folks!

Kiera & Noah


P.S. Not enough signal to sit and wait for pics to post, but they will come soon enough!


148 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Week 12

Week 9

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page